Local film organisation Midlands Movies is celebrating the success of their regional awards ceremony after a fantastic night in Leicester last weekend. Filmmakers, cast and crew were rewarded across 16 Midlands Movies Awards categories on the same weekend as the Oscars, at an event which celebrated the best creative film talent in the area.

Midlands Movies editor Mike Sales explains, “With over 85 films entered and 26 hours of film to watch, 6 experienced jury panel from the film industry members had an incredibly difficult time choosing the nominations, let alone the winners”.

A surprise “Journey” Trophy was also awarded which acknowledged the difficulties independent filmmakers overcome to get their stories to the big screen. This was in addition to a wealth of categories including best film, best short, best lead and supporting actor and actress and many more technical categories too.

BBC Radio Leicester and Derby presenter Ed Stagg was the host at the glitzy award evening which brought a touch of Hollywood to the Midlands during a wintery weekend.

After a successful campaign using the crowd-funding website Kickstarter, the Midlands Movies Awards night was conceived by a group of local film fans pooling their expertise to celebrate the creativity of artists and actors with a collective passion for the movie community in the region.

Midlands Movies Editor Mike Sales adds, “The films came from all walks of life and the hard work that goes into making a film is visible in every single local film I’ve had the pleasure of seeing. I hope it continues to blossom going forward”.

The award winners were:

Best Costume, Make-up & Hairstyling
Thomas Hodge, Neal Harvey & Matthew K. Onderka-Lang & Toran Tanner for Teddy Bears Picnic

Best Editing
Leonard Garner for I am God, And Severely Underqualified

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Daniel Lipton for Kon-Tiki

Best Music (score or song)
Pav Gekko for Just Desserts

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Maude Hirst for The Knock

Best Cinematography
Christopher Hood for Kon-Tiki

Best Documentary
Oliver Cowton for Portrait

Best Feature
David Hastings, Rebecca Harris-Smith, Alex Bourne, Troy Dennison & Kaush Patel for The House of Screaming Death

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Louise Salter for Butterfly

Best Animated Film
Lee Charlish for ninetofive

Best Director
Lee Page for The 7th Day

Best Sound (editing or mixing)
Alex Stroud for Clockworks

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Fransua Jamil Samuel for Anoesis

Best Visual Effects
Raghav Anil Kumar, Sahil Haider, Steven Mitchell & Glenn McAllen-Finney for The Rockman

Best Writing (original or adapted screenplay)
Tommy Draper for The Last Drop

Best Short
Theo Gelernter for I am God, And Severely Underqualified

The Joan Crellen Journey Award
Time, And Again by Kel Webster & Steve Lawson

Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Great Central, John has been actively involved in Leicester's creative community for over a decade - promoting shows and releasing records under the name Robot Needs Home. He is a director of Handmade Festival, and ex member of the band Maybeshewill.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.